
 
 
 

The Illinois Crime Victim Compensation Program can provide up to $27,000 worth of assistance for 
financial losses incurred due to violent crime. 
 

For more information or to request an application call: 

Crime Victims Assistance Line 
800-228-3368 Voice/TTY 

 
Who is a crime victim? 

• A person injured in this state as a result of a violent crime. 
• A survivor of a victim of a violent crime who was dependent upon the victim for support. 
• A parent whose child is the victim of a violent crime. 
• A relative of a victim who incurred reasonable funeral and/or medical expenses. 
• A child who witnessed a violent crime committed against a relative. 
• A person under the age of 18 who is the brother, sister, half brother, half sister, child, or stepchild 

of a person killed or injured in Illinois. 
• An Illinois resident who became a victim of a violent crime in another state or country that does 

not have a compensation fund for crime victims. 
• An individual who personally witnessed a violent crime. 

 
What is a violent crime for purposes of compensation? 

Murder (1st & 2nd Degree) 
Involuntary Manslaughter 
Reckless Homicide 
Kidnapping & Aggravated Kidnapping 
Battery & Aggravated Battery 
Assault & Aggravated Assault 
Heinous Battery 
Sexual Relations with Families 
Criminal Sexual Assault 
Criminal Sexual Abuse 
Aggravated Criminal Sexual Abuse 

Aggravated Criminal Sexual Assault 
Exploitation of a Child 
Stalking 
Aggravated Stalking 
Domestic Battery  
Aggravated Domestic Battery 
Reckless Conduct 
Driving Under the Influence 
Arson & Aggravated Arson 
Violation of an Order of Protection 

 
What expenses may be covered? 

• Medical and hospital expenses. 
• Funeral and burial up to a total of $5,000. 
• Counseling by licensed psychiatrists, clinical psychologists, certified social workers, or licensed 

clinical professional counselors. 
• Loss of earnings / Loss of support up to $1,000 per month. 
• Replacement services loss due to a permanently disabled or fatally injured person who had been 

providing services for themselves or their family. 
• Prosthetic devices. 
• Wheel chairs (and some other accessibility expenses, e.g., ramps). 
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• Eye glasses and hearing aids. 
• Tuition reimbursement under certain circumstances. 
• Crime scene clean-up. 
• Replacement costs for clothing/bedding used as evidence. 
• Replacement costs of locks and/or windows damaged by a violent crime. 
• Temporary lodging and relocation costs. 
• Travel and transport for survivors of homicide victims and transport of the body. 

 
How much compensation does the law provide? 

• Total compensation may not exceed $27,000 per incident/per victim. 
• No compensation is available for property loss or damage, with the exception of locks and/or 

windows damaged as a result of a violent crime or replacement costs for clothing/bedding used as 
evidence. 

• No compensation is available for pain and suffering. 
 
When is compensation available? 
The applicant must first exhaust all other remedies reasonably available, including but not limited to: 

Health Insurance 
Life Insurance 
Medicare 
Public Aid 

Workers Compensation 
Veterans Benefits 
Social Security Benefits 

 
In certain instances, applicants may be eligible for an emergency award of up to $2,000 for expenses 
covered under the Crime Victim Compensation Act. The amount of emergency compensation shall be 
deducted from any final award made as the result of a claim. The amount of emergency compensation 
for funeral and burial expenses may not exceed $1,000. 
 
What do I have to do to be eligible? 

1. Report the crime to the authorities within 72 hours or within 7 days for sexually related offenses. 
2. Cooperate with the law enforcement officers. 
3. File a compensation claim within two (2) years of the crime. 

 
In addition, the applicant can not be an offender or an accomplice of the offender. The applicant also 
must not have contributed to the victim’s injury/death by engaging in wrongful conduct or provocation. 
 
How does the process work? 

• Office of the Attorney General 
Applicant must provide any and all requested information related to the crime to the Office of the 
Attorney General (OAG). The OAG will investigate and verify information contained in the 
application, and may request applicants to appear for a personal interview. The OAG conducts all 
inquiries in strict confidence. 

• Court of Claims 
After completion of the investigation, a report is submitted to the Court of Claims. The Court will 
make a decision based upon the application and the report, or order the claim be set for a hearing.  
The Court of Claims is the final decision maker in all Crime Victims Compensation cases. 

 
Please visit www.IllinoisAttorneyGeneral.gov 


