Crime Victim Compensation: )

Frequently Asked Questions by
Sexual Assault Victims

What is the Crime Victims Compensation Act?
Violent crime is a sense-

less, often random act, The Illinois Crime Victims Compensation Act provides eligible victims of violent crime
and we see far too much | with up to $27,000 in financial assistance for certain out-of-pocket expenses resulting

of it in today s society. from the crime.
1t is no longer enough

to ensure that offenders
receive punishment under

Who Can Apply for Compensation as the Result of a Sexual Assault?

the law. Victims and their| o The victim. The actual victim of sexual assault can apply for any compensable

Jamilies need support as expense, such as medical/hospital expenses, counseling or loss of earnings.
they attempt to rebuild

lives torn apart by .

The parents of a sexual assault victim. The parents of a sexual assault victim
tragedy.

can apply for any compensable expense, such as their own counseling or loss of
earnings incurred while caring for a sexual assault victim.

s W e The victim’s minor siblings or children. If the victim has minor siblings or
pa aasan minor children (under the age of 18), these individuals can apply for their own

lllinois Attorney General .
counseling expenses.

What Must a Sexual Assault Victim Do to Be Eligible for Compensation?

These Frequently Asked
Questions do not cover
every situation. For

all requirements and

v" Notify law enforcement within 7 days of the incident. If you go to a hospital and
have a sexual assault evidence collection kit performed or if you obtain an Order
of Protection or a Civil No Contact Order, this is considered notification.

complete information, v File the application within 2 years of the date of the crime or within 1 year of the

consult the Crime Victims criminal indictment, whichever is later.

Compensation Act, v" The victim and claimant must cooperate with law enforcement officials in the

740 ILCS 45/1 et seq. at apprehension and criminal prosecution of the offender. Having a sexual assault

www.ilga.gov. evidence collection kit performed at a hospital and submitted to the police as
evidence is considered cooperation.

oo v" The victim must not have contributed to his/her injury by: engaging in a wrong-
ful act; being the offender or accomplice of the offender; or substantially provok-
Office of the Illinois ing the incident.

Attorney General v' An individual is not eligible to be paid compensation until the victim is released
Crime Victims from probation, parole, mandatory supervised release for a felony or from a
Compensation correctional institution. However, the claim must still be filed within 2 years of the

100 West Randolph St. date of the crime or 1 year of the criminal indictment.
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1-800-228-3368 at is Different, If Anything, for Minor Victims of Sexual Assault?
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after the incident occurs. Therefore, for purposes of the Compensation Program, the
“crime date” for minor victims of sexual assault (under the age of 18) is the date the
crime is reported to a parent, teacher or other responsible party.
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/
What Expenses are Eligible for Reimbursement? )

The Compensation Program may reimburse the following expenses if they are necessary, due to the crime, and if
no other sources of reimbursement are available. Caps or limits may apply.
v Medical/Hospital and Dental Expenses
Mental Health Counseling
Loss of Earnings (up to $1,000/month)
Relocation (includes temporary lodging, first month’s rent, security deposit and storage)
Replacement Costs (hearing aids, eyeglasses, replacement of clothing/bedding taken as evidence and
locks/windows damaged as a result of the incident)
Crime Scene Clean-up and Accessibility & Usability of Property (wheelchairs, ramps, etc.)
Loss of Tuition
Replacement Services Loss (up to $1,000/month)
Funeral/Burial Expenses (up to $5,000)
Loss of Support (up to $1,000/month)
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What If There is Insurance or Reimbursement from Other Sources?

The Compensation Program is the “payer of last resort.” If any other sources of reimbursement are available, the
sources must be used before any Compensation Program payment can be made. Applicants are responsible for
informing the Program of all available reimbursement sources, including:

v Medical/health, dental, vision insurance, and life insurance

v’ Auto insurance

v" Public Program benefits (Public Aid, Medicare, Worker’s Compensation Benefits, etc.)

v" Court-ordered restitution and civil lawsuit recoveries

Does the Money Go Directly to the Victim?

Reimbursement is made to the victim for out-of-pocket expenses. Reimbursement may also be paid directly to
service providers, such as hospitals, doctors, funeral homes and others, for expenses incurred by the victim as a
result of the crime.

How Does the Process Work? How Do You Obtain Referrals or Check Status of a Claim?

To file an application, contact the Crime Victims Compensation Bureau at 1-800-228-3368 (Voice/TTY) or
download the application at www.illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/victims/cve.html. Once the application is submit-
ted, it will be given a claim number. The Office of the Illinois Attorney General will review the information on
the application and will request additional information and documentation to determine if you are eligible for the
Compensation Program. The Office of the Illinois Attorney General makes a recommendation to the Court of
Claims and the Court of Claims will render a decision based on the application and the Office of the

Illinois Attorney General’s recommendation. A copy of the decision will be mailed to the applicant (also referred
to as the claimant). All payments are then issued by the Illinois Comptroller’s Office.

If you have any questions about the Compensation Program or if you would like referrals for counseling or other
services, please contact our office at 1-800-228-3368 (Voice/TTY) or visit our Web site at
www.illinoisattorneygeneral.gov. Completed applications and other forms should be returned to:

Office of the Illinois Attorney General
Crime Victims Compensation
100 West Randolph St., 13th Floor
Chicago, IL 60601
Fax: (312) 814-7105
\_ crimevictimservices@atg.state.il.us )




