Crime Victim Compensation:
Frequently Asked Questions by
Relatives of Deceased Victims

Violent crime is a sense-
less, often random act,
and we see far too much
of it in today s society. It
is not enough to ensure
that offenders receive
punishment under the
law. Victims and their
families need support as
they attempt to rebuild
lives torn apart by
tragedy.
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These Frequently Asked
Questions do not cover
every situation. For

all requirements and
complete information,
consult the Crime Victims
Compensation Act,

740 ILCS 45/1 et seq. at
www.ilga.gov.

Office of the Illinois
Attorney General
Crime Victims
Compensation
100 West Randolph St.
13th Floor
Chicago, IL 60601
1-800-228-3368
TTY: 1-877-398-1130
crimevictimservices@
atg.state.il.us

What Is the Crime Victims Compensation Act?

The Crime Victims Compensation Act offers financial assistance for eligible victims
of violent crime. Relatives of deceased victims in the State of Illinois may be eli-
gible to receive compensation up to $27,000, which includes a maximum of $7,500
for funeral and burial expenses.

What Are Some of the Types of Expenses That May Be Covered for
Relatives of Deceased Victims?

* Funeral and Burial Costs. All costs associated with the funeral and burial of
the victim, including travel and transportation costs to survivors of homicide
victims to secure bodies and transport them for burial. These expenses may
be covered up to $7,500. Any person who has paid for, or has become obligat-
ed to pay for, reasonable funeral and burial expenses should fill out a Crime
Victim Compensation application. If a claim is eligible, compensation will be
paid directly to any vendors with outstanding expenses.

* Loss of Support. Spouses and minor children (under the age of 18) who were
dependent on the victim for financial support may also be eligible for loss of
support. Loss of support is reimbursed at a maximum of $1,250 per month
until the amount set by law is reached. The spouse or the legal guardian of any
minor children must apply to the Crime Victim Compensation Program.

e Mental Health Treatment. The spouse, parents and any minor child or
minor sibling of a homicide victim may be eligible for reimbursement of costs
for psychological treatment related to the crime. Each spouse, parent and legal
guardian of the minors should fill out a separate Crime Victim Compensation
application.

e Other Expenses. The spouse and parents of a homicide victim may be eligible
for other incurred expenses, such as their own loss of earnings.

What Violent Crimes Are Eligible for Compensation?

Victims of first degree murder, second degree murder, involuntary manslaughter,
reckless homicide, aggravated arson, driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs
and pedestrian victims of hit and run incidents are eligible. Victims of other traffic
incidents are not eligible.

Does the Victim or Claimant Need To Be a U.S. Citizen?

No. The victim or claimant does not need to be a U.S. citizen to be eligible for
compensation.
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What Are Some of the Requirements To Be Eligible for the Compensation Program?

v' The crime must be reported to law enforcement officials within 72 hours unless prevented by exceptional
circumstances.

v' The victim and claimant must cooperate with law enforcement officials in the apprehension and criminal
prosecution of the offender.

v' The claimant must cooperate with the Office of the Illinois Attorney General to verify information
about the incident and to verify expenses.

v" The claim must be filed, generally, within 2 years of the date of the crime or within 1 year of the filing of
a criminal charge, whichever is later.

v' The crime must have occurred in Illinois. If the victim was an Illinois resident killed in a country
without a Compensation Program, the victim’s family may apply for compensation in Illinois.

v' The victim must not have contributed to his/her injury by engaging in a wrongful act and the victim must
not have substantially provoked the incident.

What Other Sources of Funding Are Available To Help Cover Expenses?

The Crime Victim Compensation Program is only available to cover expenses when all other sources of finan-
cial recovery have been exhausted. The victim’s family must use any other funding sources before the Com-
pensation Program, such as life insurance, Public Aid, medical insurance, etc.

How Does the Process Work? How Do You Obtain Referrals or Check Status of a Claim?

To file an application, contact the Crime Victims Compensation Bureau at 1-800-228-3368 (TTY: 1-877-398-
1130) or download the application at www.illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/victims/cvc.html. Once the application
is submitted, it will be given a claim number. The Office of the Illinois Attorney General will review the infor-
mation on the application and will request additional information and documentation to determine if you are
eligible for the Compensation Program. The Office of the Illinois Attorney General makes a recommendation
to the Court of Claims and the Court of Claims will render a decision based on the application and the Office
of the Illinois Attorney General’s recommendation. A copy of the decision will be mailed to the claimant (the
person who applied to the program). All payments are then issued by the Illinois Comptroller’s Office.

If you have any questions about the Compensation Program or if you would like any referrals for counseling or
other services, please contact our office at 1-800-228-3368 (TTY: 1-877-398-1130) or visit our website at
www.illinoisattorneygeneral.gov. Completed applications and other forms should be returned to:

Office of the Illinois Attorney General
Crime Victims Compensation
100 West Randolph St., 13th Floor
Chicago, IL 60601
crimevictimservices@atg.state.il.us




