Violent crime is a sense-
less, often random act,
and we see far too much
of it in today’s society.

It is no longer enough
to ensure that offenders
receive the harshest
punishment under the
law. Victims and their
families need support as
they attempt to rebuild
lives torn apart by
tragedy.

Lisa Madigan
Illinois Attorney General

These Frequently Asked
Questions do not cover
every situation. For

all requirements and
complete information,
consult the Crime Victims
Compensation Act,

740 ILCS 45/1 et seq. at
www.ilga.gov.

Office of the Illinois
Attorney General
Crime Victims
Compensation
100 West Randolph St.
13th Floor
Chicago, IL 60601
1-800-228-3368
Fax: (312) 814-7105
crimevictimservices@
atg.state.il.us
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Crime Victim Compensation:
Frequently Asked Questions

What is the Crime Victims Compensation Act?

The Illinois Crime Victims Compensation Act provides eligible victims of violent crime
with up to $27,000 in financial assistance for certain out-of-pocket expenses resulting
from the crime.

Who is a Crime Victim?

What is a Violent Crime for Purposes of the Compensation Program?

What Must the Claimant Do to Be Eligible for Compensation?

v Notify law enforcement. Typically, notification must occur within 72 hours
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A person killed or injured in Illinois as a result of a violent crime.

The parent of a person killed or injured in Illinois as a result of a violent crime.

A person killed or injured in Illinois while attempting to assist a crime victim.

An individual who personally witnessed a violent crime in Illinois.

An lllinois resident who became a victim of a violent crime in a country that does
not have a compensation fund for crime victims.

A person under the age of 18 who is the brother, sister, half brother, half sister,
child or stepchild of a person killed or injured in Illinois (for mental health
treatment only).

Criminal Sexual Assault
Criminal Sexual Abuse
Exploitation of a Child

First Degree Murder .
Second Degree Murder .
Involuntary Manslaughter e

Battery .
Assault .
Hate Crime o

Reckless Conduct » Stalking * Violation of Order of Protection
Child Pornography * Kidnapping * Driving Under the Influence
Domestic Battery * Arson * Hit and Run of Pedestrians

of the crime or within 7 days for sexual assaults. A victim can also get an Order
of Protection, a Civil No Contact Order or complete a sexual assault evidence
collection kit.

File an application within 2 years of the date of the crime or within 1 year of the
criminal indictment, whichever is later.

Cooperate with law enforcement officials in the apprehension and criminal
prosecution of the offender. However, it is not necessary for an offender to be
apprehended for a victim to be eligible for the Compensation Program.

Cooperate with the Office of the Illinois Attorney General and submit and verify
information about the crime victim’s compensation claim.

The victim must not have contributed to his/her injury by: engaging in a wrong-
ful act, being the offender or accomplice of the offender, or substantially
provoking the incident.

An individual is not eligible to be paid compensation until the victim is released
from probation, parole, mandatory supervised release for a felony or from a correc-
tional institution. However, the claim must still be filed within 2 years of the date
of the crime or 1 year of the criminal indictment, whichever is later.
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What Expenses are Eligible for Reimbursement? h

The Compensation Program may reimburse the following expenses if they are necessary, due to the crime, and if
no other sources of reimbursement are available. Caps or limits may apply.

Medical/Hospital and Dental Expenses

Mental Health Counseling

Loss of Earnings (up to $1,000/month)

Relocation (includes temporary lodging, first month’s rent, security deposit and storage)
Replacement Costs (hearing aids, eyeglasses, replacement of clothing/bedding taken as evidence and
locks/windows damaged as a result of the incident)

Crime Scene Clean-up and Accessibility & Usability of Property (wheelchairs, ramps, etc.)

Loss of Tuition

Replacement Services Loss (up to $1,000/month)

Funeral/Burial Expenses (up to $5,000)

Loss of Support (up to $1,000/month)
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What If There is Insurance or Reimbursement from Other Sources?

The Compensation Program is the “payer of last resort.” If any other sources of reimbursement are available,
the sources must be used before any Compensation Program payment can be made. Applicants are responsible
for informing the Program of all available reimbursement sources, including:

v" Medical/health, dental, vision insurance, and life insurance

v" Auto insurance

v" Public Program benefits (Public Aid, Medicare, Worker’s Compensation Benefits, etc.)

v Court-ordered restitution and civil lawsuit recoveries

Does the Money Go Directly to the Victim?

Reimbursement is made to the victim for out-of-pocket expenses. Reimbursement may also be paid directly to
service providers, such as hospitals, doctors, funeral homes and others, for expenses incurred by the victim as a
result of the crime.

How Does the Process Work? How Do You Obtain Referrals or Check Status of a Claim?

To file an application, contact the Crime Victims Compensation Bureau at 1-800-228-3368 (Voice/TTY) or
download the application at www.illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/victims/cvc.html. Once the application is submit-
ted, it will be given a claim number. The Office of the Illinois Attorney General will review the information on
the application and will request additional information and documentation to determine if you are eligible for the
Compensation Program. The Office of the Illinois Attorney General makes a recommendation to the Court of
Claims and the Court of Claims will render a decision based on the application and the Office of the

Illinois Attorney General’s recommendation. A copy of the decision will be mailed to the applicant (also re-
ferred to as the claimant). All payments are then issued by the Illinois Comptroller’s Office.

If you have any questions about the Compensation Program or if you would like referrals for counseling or other
services, please contact our office at 1-800-228-3368 (Voice/TTY) or visit our Web site at
www.illinoisattorneygeneral.gov. Completed applications and other forms should be returned to:

Office of the Illinois Attorney General
Crime Victims Compensation
100 West Randolph St., 13th Floor
Chicago, 1L 60601
Fax: (312) 814-7105
\_ crimevictimservices@atg.state.il.us




