
 
 
 

 
Violent crime is a senseless, often random act, and we see far too much of it in today’s society.  It is no longer enough to ensure 
that offenders receive the harshest punishment under the law.  Victims and their families need support as they attempt to rebuild 
lives torn apart by tragedy. 
       -Attorney General Lisa Madigan 
 
 
By law, every law enforcement agency that investigates a crime of violence committed in the State of Illinois 
must inform the victim and any dependants of the victim of the Crime Victims Compensation Act. (740 ILCS 
45/5.1(b)) 
 
What is the Crime Victims Compensation Act? 
The Illinois Crime Victims Compensation Act provides eligible victims of violent crime with up to $27,000 in 
financial assistance for out-of-pocket expenses resulting from the crime. 
 
What type of compensation is available to victims? 
Eligible victims may be compensated for funeral and burial, medical, hospital and counseling expenses.  They 
are also eligible for loss of earnings, loss of tuition, crime scene clean-up expenses, reasonable relocation and 
temporary lodging expenses, accessibility expenses (wheelchairs, ramps, etc.), replacement costs for clothing 
and bedding taken as evidence and compensation for eyeglasses and hearing aids necessary or damaged as a 
result of the crime.  
 
Does the money go directly to the victim? 
Reimbursement is made to the victim for their out-of-pocket expenses.  Reimbursement may also be paid 
directly to service providers, like hospitals, doctors, funeral homes and others, for expenses incurred by the 
victim as a result of the crime. 
 
What makes a victim “eligible”? 
Victims must meet statutory requirements under the law to be eligible for compensation, including:  
  • The crime was not substantially attributable to the wrongful act or provocation of the victim;  
  • The victim cooperated with law enforcement in both the apprehension and the prosecution of the alleged 

offender; 
  • The victim notified law enforcement of the crime within 72 hours, within 7 days for sexual offenses, or in 

a timely manner under the circumstances;  
  • The crime must have occurred in Illinois, and 
  •   The crime is identified in the law as a compensable crime (murder, manslaughter, involuntary 

manslaughter, reckless homicide, kidnapping offenses, sex crimes, child exploitation, assault, aggravated 
assault, battery, aggravated battery, domestic battery, heinous battery, stalking, aggravated stalking, reckless 
conduct, arson, aggravated arson, and driving under the influence).  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Crime Victim Compensation:      
Information for Law Enforcement 
Officials 



What if the victim did not report the crime to law enforcement within the given timeframe? 
The victim may still be eligible for compensation if there was a reason for the delay in reporting.  Encourage 
the victim to apply and allow the Crime Victim Compensation Bureau to review the claim for eligibility. 
 
Does an offender need to be in custody for a victim to apply for Crime Victim Compensation? 
NO!  A victim may be eligible for compensation whether or not the offender is apprehended. 
 
How can a police officer or other law enforcement agent assist a victim in obtaining compensation? 
The Illinois Attorney General’s Office has applications available for crime victims on-line.  Applications can 
also be obtained through the mail by contacting the Attorney General’s Office at (800) 228-3368.   
 
Because of the traumatic nature of criminal victimization, victims may need help completing the application.  
If you assist a victim in completing an application, please: 
 
  •   Explain each section of the application to the claimant; 
  •  Ask the victim to sign the back page of the application; 
  •  Include your name and contact information on the last page of the application; 
  •  Talk to the victim about the statutory requirements regarding eligibility described in this fact 
       sheet, especially the requirement of working with law enforcement in the investigation of the 
      crime;  
  •  Mail the application to the Attorney General’s Office immediately after it is completed by the  
      victim, and 
  •  Call the Attorney General’s Office at (800) 228-3368 with questions regarding how to properly     
      complete an application. 
 
 
To obtain statewide service referrals or check the status of your compensation claim,  
please contact our office at: 
 
Illinois Attorney General Lisa Madigan 
Crime Victims Compensation Bureau 
100 W. Randolph Street, 13th Floor 
Chicago, Illinois 60601 
(800) 228-3368 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
Please visit www.IllinoisAttorneyGeneral.gov 

 


