(r—-n.j LISA MADIGAN The Methamphetamine

S LLINOIS ATTORNEY GENERAL Manufacturing Chemical Retail
Sale Control Act (720 ILCS 647)

What is the Methamphetamine Manufacturing Chemical Retail Sale Control Act?

The Methamphetamine Manufacturing Chemical Retail Sale Control Act is a new law designed to
slow the spread of meth in Illinois. Drafted by Attorney General Lisa Madigan and supported by
law enforcement authorities, retailer groups, and other organizations, the Act was unanimously
passed by the General Assembly and signed into law in August 2004.

What is the purpose of the Act?

The Methamphetamine Manufacturing Chemical Retail Sale Control Act is designed to slow the
spread of methamphetamine, an illegal and dangerous drug manufactured in Illinois from certain
products containing ephedrine or pseudoephedrine. The law regulates the display and sale of these
products to restrict the supply of ephedrine and pseudoephedrine available to meth makers with-
out impeding the legitimate use of these products by residents who suffer from colds or allergies.

What are the basic provisions of the Act?
The Act restricts the packaging, sale, and display of adult-strength cold tablets containing ephe-
drine or pseudoephedrine and requires training of store personnel.

Packaging. Adult-strength cold tablets containing ephedrine or pseudoephedrine must be sold in
blister packs containing no more than three grams of ephedrine or pseudoephedrine per pack.

Sale. Retailers may not sell more than two packages of adult-strength cold tablets containing
ephedrine or pseudoephedrine at a time, and they may not sell a»y such packages if they know the
buyer will use the packages to make meth.

Display. Retailers must place adult-strength cold tablets containing ephedrine or pseudoephe-
drine as their sole active ingredient behind store counters or in locked cases.

Training. Retailers must train their employees to understand their responsibilities under the Act
and to recognize customers whose behavior suggests they are purchasing products for the purpose
of manufacturing methamphetamine.

Are there penalties for violating the Act?

Yes. It a Class A misdemeanor for an individual store employee to violate the Act and a Class 4
felony for a second or subsequent violation. If a retail business violates the Act, it is a business
offense with fines ranging from $500 for a first violation, to $1,000 for a second violation, to
$5,000 for a third or subsequent violation.

for more information, please visit
www.IllinoisAttorneyGeneral.gov/methnet

@) LISA MADIGAN

# ILLINGIS ATTORNEY GENERAL




